1976 Class A Football Playoffs

November 12 - November 26, 1976

State Champion

Rockwood High School

Pictured: Billy Springs, Randy Wicks, Darrell Brasel, Eric Eates, Jeff Cobb, Mark Clem, Wayne Brasel, Gary McCullough, Richard Holcomb, Mike Sanders, Travis Collier, Tracy Bledsoe, Mark Pemberton, George Tredway, Wallace Billings, David Denanery, Tim Layton, Dennis Collett, Jeff Russell, Clayton Neal, Murel Crudup, E. W. Pemberton, Mike Collier, Clarence Holloway, Randy Crabtree, Darrell Warner, Jim Mead, Steve Watson, Kenny Jeffcoat, Ricky Hill, Lee Wilkerson, Leroy Chatman, Allen Marine, Tony Chatman, Barry Fagan, Mike Foster, Chris Collett, Tony Bowling, Gary Fulmer, Scotty Pugh, Mike Pemberton, Barry Evans, Mike Miller, Gary Hickey, Danny Bledsoe, Randy Collett, Michael Collier

Tournament Schedule/Results

Day Date Time # Matchup Location
Friday Nov 12 7:30 PM Rockwood 35, South Pittsburg 10
Friday Nov 12 7:30 PM Walland 17, Lanier 7
Friday Nov 12 7:30 PM Dyer Co. 21, Lewis Co. 6
Friday Nov 12 7:30 PM Watertown 20, St. Andrews 8
Friday Nov 19 7:30 PM Rockwood 27, Walland 7
Friday Nov 19 7:30 PM Dyer Co. 28, Watertown 6
Friday Nov 26 7:30 PM Rockwood 3, Dyer Co. 0

Participating Schools

Dyer Co.
Lewis Co.
South Pittsburg
St. Andrews

Championship Venue


Tucker Stadium

Tennessee Tech University's Tucker Stadium has been home to the TSSAA State Football Championships since 2009.

The 16,500 seat stadium features a synthetic playing surface and is located about three miles from I-40.

Tucker Stadium was built in 1966 and is named in tribute to longtime Golden Eagle coach Wilburn Tucker.

Learn More

Spectator Information


Tickets are $12 for school-age children and older and are good for one day only. Ticket sales locations are located on both the East and West sides of the stadium. The Will Call booth is located on the West side of the stadium between Gates #2 and #3. Mobile tickets are available for purchase in advance at https://gofan.co/tssaa. Gates will open one hour prior to the first game of the day.


Parking is $10 per vehicle (cash only). Signage and volunteers will directly drivers to numerous lots reserved for spectators. Free shuttles will be available to transport spectators from more distant parking areas to the stadium.

Stadium Policies

Weapons, coolers, whistles, air canisters and pop-up tents are prohibited in Tucker Stadium Tennessee Tech is a tobacco free campus. Smoking is prohibited unless in a personal vehicle.

Artificial noisemakers that Tucker Stadium security personnel deem a public safety risk, public nuisance and/or otherwise negatively impact the game or the spectator experience are prohibited inside Tucker Stadium and on the Tennessee Tech campus. Drones are not permitted to be flown anywhere in the vicinity of the stadium.

Handicap Accessibility

Primary handicap parking is on the Northwest side of Tucker Stadium and patrons should enter this parking area from 12th Street. Wheelchair bound patrons sitting on the West side of Tucker Stadium (home side) should enter through Gate 2 and the wheelchair ramp is on the North side of West Stadium with seating along the front rail of the stadium. Wheelchair bound patrons sitting on the East side of Tucker Stadium (visitors side) should enter through Gate 4 and the wheelchair ramp is on the South side of East Stadium with seating along the front rail of the stadium.

Area Information

Visit CookevilleChampions.com for hotel, restaurant, and other area information.

Media Information

Media outlets inquiring about credentialed access to the championships should contact Matthew Gillespie or complete the online credential request form.

See something wrong or out of place?