1975 Class A Football Playoffs

November 14 - November 28, 1975

State Champion

Oak Ridge High School

Pictured: Tommy Smith, Kurt Johnson, Mark Brady, Dean Nichols, Dwayne Horton, Carol Foster, Tony Sisson, David Webber, John Gick, Steve Brady, Roger Wade, Kenny Haese, Scotty Smith, Randy Gibson, Tommy Collier, Angelo Canonico, Ronnie Croley, Alfred Stephens, Craig Freeman, Ray White, David Hetzel, Brian Roebuck, Sam Krakviak, Gary Renfro, Bob Witherspoon, Brent Gresham, Shipper Lasher, Phil Hall, Scotty Stancell, Don Hickman, Barry Voskamp, Hughie Thomas, Pat White, Gerry Walker, Mark Hardin, Gary Black, Tom VanRiper, Guy Hamrick, Nicky Orlando, Brian Campbell, Bobby Pullen, George Mead, Marley Cooper, John Wheeler, Chick Graning, Emory Hale, Jim Doane, Jeff Culver, Mike Breazeale, Tom Turmelle, Johnny Reeves, Steve Williams, Roger Franklin, Tim Strunk, David Copeland, Jim Ramsey, Mike Roach, Scott Cambron, Gary Puckett, Dr. Joe Tittle, Paul Brewster, Mike Brewster, Mark Hopkins, Tommy Robbins, Randy Booker, Gary Ellison, Bobby DeBakker, Jim Bumbry, Steve Lane, Don Stanley, Steve Buck, Billy Holbert, Vant Hardaway

Tournament Schedule/Results

Day Date Time # Matchup Location
Friday Nov 14 7:30 PM Walland 30, Porter 0
Friday Nov 14 7:30 PM Rockwood 42, Meigs Co. 8
Friday Nov 14 7:30 PM White House 14, Moore Co. 7
Friday Nov 14 7:30 PM Dyer Co. 19, Halls 7
Friday Nov 21 7:30 PM Walland 26, Rockwood 14
Friday Nov 21 7:30 PM White House 14, Dyer Co. 8
Friday Nov 28 7:30 PM Walland 20, White House 6

Participating Schools

Dyer Co.
Meigs Co.
Moore Co.
White House

Championship Venue


Tucker Stadium

Tennessee Tech University's Tucker Stadium has been home to the TSSAA State Football Championships since 2009.

The 16,500 seat stadium features a synthetic playing surface and is located about three miles from I-40.

Tucker Stadium was built in 1966 and is named in tribute to longtime Golden Eagle coach Wilburn Tucker.

Learn More

Spectator Information


Tickets are $12 for school-age children and older and are good for one day only. Ticket sales locations are located on both the East and West sides of the stadium. The Will Call booth is located on the West side of the stadium between Gates #2 and #3. Mobile tickets are available for purchase in advance at https://gofan.co/tssaa. Gates will open one hour prior to the first game of the day.


Parking is $10 per vehicle (cash only). Signage and volunteers will directly drivers to numerous lots reserved for spectators. Free shuttles will be available to transport spectators from more distant parking areas to the stadium.

Stadium Policies

Weapons, coolers, whistles, air canisters and pop-up tents are prohibited in Tucker Stadium Tennessee Tech is a tobacco free campus. Smoking is prohibited unless in a personal vehicle.

Artificial noisemakers that Tucker Stadium security personnel deem a public safety risk, public nuisance and/or otherwise negatively impact the game or the spectator experience are prohibited inside Tucker Stadium and on the Tennessee Tech campus. Drones are not permitted to be flown anywhere in the vicinity of the stadium.

Handicap Accessibility

Primary handicap parking is on the Northwest side of Tucker Stadium and patrons should enter this parking area from 12th Street. Wheelchair bound patrons sitting on the West side of Tucker Stadium (home side) should enter through Gate 2 and the wheelchair ramp is on the North side of West Stadium with seating along the front rail of the stadium. Wheelchair bound patrons sitting on the East side of Tucker Stadium (visitors side) should enter through Gate 4 and the wheelchair ramp is on the South side of East Stadium with seating along the front rail of the stadium.

Area Information

Visit CookevilleChampions.com for hotel, restaurant, and other area information.

Media Information

Media outlets inquiring about credentialed access to the championships should contact Matthew Gillespie or complete the online credential request form.

See something wrong or out of place?