1973 Class AAA Football Playoffs

November 23 - December 7, 1973

State Champion

Baylor School

Pictured: Carl Swafford, Reece wrenn, Gil Isbell, Phillip Strang, David Wheeler, Scott Ferguson, Robert Hays, Marty Lagod, Bob Worthington, Terry Atkins, Mike Shuford, Clay Gibson, Garry Henry, Mitch Shauf, Frank Latimer, Van Bunch, John Jacobs, Hal Isbell, Harry McCool, Frank Hughes, Vince Warrick, Tim Lagod, Jeff Martin, Stan Reed, Rob Davis, Dan Anderson, Joey Wheless, John Wilson, Jeff Aiken, Bob Gish, Rick Dahlstrom, John Simmons, Scott Price, Tim Pendergrass, Andy Rutledge, Tim McCartney, Jody Locklear, Tim Tucker, David Shrader, John Boyles, John Carroll, David Hannah, Sam Bailey, Blake Moore, William Spurlock, John Lyman, Randy Wilson, Marshall Wood, Tom Paden, Allen Corey, Randy Davis, John Wooley, Andy Stockett, Pete Serodino, John Duckett, John Royal, Robert Meadows, Tommy Marsh, Mike McCartney, David Rutherford, Gus Sams, Jerry Wade, Mike Wallace, Will Oehmig, Clay Crumbliss, Paul Hollis, Tom Woods, Paul Shoun, Cal Jumper, Bogan Brooks, Pat Corey, Chris Bryant, Mark Soloff, Jack Latimer, Bud Johnson, Johnny Pruitt, Carty Davis, Larry Cash, Harry Cash, Frank Trundle, Steve Persinger, Rusty McMahon, Richard Sutherland, Doak Fairey, Bill Copeland, Sam Stewart, Dudley Owens, Gene Etter, Sib Evans, E. B. (Red) Etter, David Longley, Fred Hubbs

Tournament Schedule/Results

Day Date Time # Matchup Location
Friday Nov 23 7:30 PM Baylor 34, Warren Co. 14
Friday Nov 23 7:30 PM Oak Ridge 21, Knoxville Central 7
Friday Nov 23 7:30 PM Hillcrest 20, Hamilton 7
Friday Nov 23 7:30 PM Nashville Overton 35, McGavock 0
Friday Nov 30 7:30 PM Baylor 28, Oak Ridge 14
Friday Nov 30 7:30 PM Hillcrest 13, Nashville Overton 10
Friday Dec 7 7:30 PM Baylor 6, Hillcrest 0

Participating Schools

Knoxville Central
Nashville Overton
Oak Ridge
Warren Co.

Championship Venue


Tucker Stadium

Tennessee Tech University's Tucker Stadium has been home to the TSSAA State Football Championships since 2009.

The 16,500 seat stadium features a synthetic playing surface and is located about three miles from I-40.

Tucker Stadium was built in 1966 and is named in tribute to longtime Golden Eagle coach Wilburn Tucker.

Learn More

Spectator Information


Tickets are $12 for school-age children and older and are good for one day only. Ticket sales locations are located on both the East and West sides of the stadium. The Will Call booth is located on the West side of the stadium between Gates #2 and #3. Mobile tickets are available for purchase in advance at https://gofan.co/tssaa. Gates will open one hour prior to the first game of the day.


Parking is $10 per vehicle (cash only). Signage and volunteers will directly drivers to numerous lots reserved for spectators. Free shuttles will be available to transport spectators from more distant parking areas to the stadium.

Stadium Policies

Weapons, coolers, whistles, air canisters and pop-up tents are prohibited in Tucker Stadium Tennessee Tech is a tobacco free campus. Smoking is prohibited unless in a personal vehicle.

Artificial noisemakers that Tucker Stadium security personnel deem a public safety risk, public nuisance and/or otherwise negatively impact the game or the spectator experience are prohibited inside Tucker Stadium and on the Tennessee Tech campus. Drones are not permitted to be flown anywhere in the vicinity of the stadium.

Handicap Accessibility

Primary handicap parking is on the Northwest side of Tucker Stadium and patrons should enter this parking area from 12th Street. Wheelchair bound patrons sitting on the West side of Tucker Stadium (home side) should enter through Gate 2 and the wheelchair ramp is on the North side of West Stadium with seating along the front rail of the stadium. Wheelchair bound patrons sitting on the East side of Tucker Stadium (visitors side) should enter through Gate 4 and the wheelchair ramp is on the South side of East Stadium with seating along the front rail of the stadium.

Area Information

Visit CookevilleChampions.com for hotel, restaurant, and other area information.

Media Information

Media outlets inquiring about credentialed access to the championships should contact Matthew Gillespie or complete the online credential request form.

See something wrong or out of place?