1980 Class AAA Football Playoffs

November 14 - December 5, 1980

State Champion

Oak Ridge High School

Pictured: Jim Helton, Randall Cooke, Chris Chambles, Bruce Carabia, John Doyle, Kent Joyner, David Hall, Doug Martin, Eric Tobler, Scott jJenkins, Mark Davis, Ricky Zitzman, Emory Hale, Bobby Parton, Rusty Batch, Greg Anderson, Scott Monger, Harvey McKay, Brad Miller, Bruce Foster, Tim Verner, Larry Spratling, Roy Kirk, David Sumner, Doug Hosler, Paul Brewster, Chick Graning, John Wiegand, David Barrack, Kim Pettus, Hoss Singletary, John Jernigan, Gary Quincy, Tom Roche, Sam Singletary, Allen Thompson, Anthony Miller, Mike Davis, Steve Medlin, Joe Tittle, Jeff Rich, Robert Poteat, Pete Nesbitt, Chip Hendrix, Jamie Nyholm, Bill Zulliger, Mac Cook, Robby Smith, Terrill Smith, Steve Burtnett, Mike Blair, Mark Stokes, John Martin , Bob Smith, Barry Voskamp, Cliff Russell, Brad Jenkins, Billy Roberts, Mitch Parker, Bart Brinkman, Todd Stone, Joe Wike, Ron Jackson, Matt Walukas, Mitch Rouse, Phil Sharp, Richard Anthony, Tim Waddell, Lance Hull, Barry Saunders, Jeff Denton, John Lain, Scott Martin, James Shaffer, Richard Malinauskas, Bobby Forde, DwightSkidmore, Jeff Gick, Darrell Mull, Mark Boatner, Eddie Ricks, Scott Matthews, Mike Henderson, Merle Keever, Mark Berry, Alan Hammonds, Jo David Keith, John Shannon, Matt Brown, Charles Roach, Don Colquitt, David Hoeschele, Mike Kelly, Jack Cornett, Brian Hyde, Jimmy Campbell, Mark Hale, Matt Quick, B. J. Bolen, James Bond

Tournament Schedule/Results

Day Date Time # Matchup Location
Friday Nov 14 7:30 PM Oak Ridge 54, Austin-East 8
Friday Nov 14 7:30 PM Morristown West 37, Elizabethton 21
Friday Nov 14 7:30 PM Warren Co. 22, Franklin Co. 14
Friday Nov 14 7:30 PM Bradley Central 9, Chattanooga City 0
Friday Nov 14 7:30 PM Germantown 14, Jackson Central-Merry 0
Friday Nov 14 7:30 PM Melrose 19, Memphis South Side 0
Friday Nov 14 7:30 PM Gallatin 7, Dickson Co. 0
Friday Nov 14 7:30 PM Father Ryan 14, Maplewood 0
Friday Nov 21 7:30 PM Oak Ridge 41, Morristown West 14
Friday Nov 21 7:30 PM Warren Co. 14, Bradley Central 7
Friday Nov 21 7:30 PM Germantown 28, Melrose 13
Friday Nov 21 7:30 PM Gallatin 24, Father Ryan 17
Friday Nov 28 7:30 PM Oak Ridge 29, Warren Co. 14
Friday Nov 28 7:30 PM Germantown 14, Gallatin 7
Friday Dec 5 7:30 PM Oak Ridge 13, Germantown 0

Participating Schools

Bradley Central
Dickson Co.
Father Ryan
Franklin Co.
Jackson Central-Merry
Memphis South Side High School
Morristown West
Oak Ridge
Warren Co.

Championship Venue


Tucker Stadium

Tennessee Tech University's Tucker Stadium has been home to the TSSAA State Football Championships since 2009.

The 16,500 seat stadium features a synthetic playing surface and is located about three miles from I-40.

Tucker Stadium was built in 1966 and is named in tribute to longtime Golden Eagle coach Wilburn Tucker.

Learn More

Spectator Information


Tickets are $12 for school-age children and older and are good for one day only. Ticket sales locations are located on both the East and West sides of the stadium. The Will Call booth is located on the West side of the stadium between Gates #2 and #3. Mobile tickets are available for purchase in advance at https://gofan.co/tssaa. Gates will open one hour prior to the first game of the day.


Parking is $10 per vehicle (cash only). Signage and volunteers will directly drivers to numerous lots reserved for spectators. Free shuttles will be available to transport spectators from more distant parking areas to the stadium.

Stadium Policies

Weapons, coolers, whistles, air canisters and pop-up tents are prohibited in Tucker Stadium Tennessee Tech is a tobacco free campus. Smoking is prohibited unless in a personal vehicle.

Artificial noisemakers that Tucker Stadium security personnel deem a public safety risk, public nuisance and/or otherwise negatively impact the game or the spectator experience are prohibited inside Tucker Stadium and on the Tennessee Tech campus. Drones are not permitted to be flown anywhere in the vicinity of the stadium.

Handicap Accessibility

Primary handicap parking is on the Northwest side of Tucker Stadium and patrons should enter this parking area from 12th Street. Wheelchair bound patrons sitting on the West side of Tucker Stadium (home side) should enter through Gate 2 and the wheelchair ramp is on the North side of West Stadium with seating along the front rail of the stadium. Wheelchair bound patrons sitting on the East side of Tucker Stadium (visitors side) should enter through Gate 4 and the wheelchair ramp is on the South side of East Stadium with seating along the front rail of the stadium.

Area Information

Visit CookevilleChampions.com for hotel, restaurant, and other area information.

Media Information

Media outlets inquiring about credentialed access to the championships should contact Matthew Gillespie or complete the online credential request form.

See something wrong or out of place?